Homemade Whole Wheat Pizza

I found a great recipe for pizza dough that calls for whole wheat flour and honey.

IMG_1145 small

IMG_1147 small

Don’t be afraid to use a lot of flour when you’re rolling the dough into a circle, otherwise things can get sticky. Butter and flour the pizza pan, too.

After rolling it out, I pre-baked the crust (before putting any toppings on) for 15 minutes at 350F on a greased, floured pan (important!). I forgot to poke holes in the dough before I put it in – got some pretty big bubbles, but I poked ’em with my fork and it worked out fine.

After baking, I spread a sauce on the crust:

  • One 6 oz. can tomato paste
  • A few tablespoons of canned tomato sauce (to thin out the thick paste)
  • Some basil, oregano and italian seasoning
  • Some parmesan cheese

Then, I added the toppings:

  • Can of mushrooms
  • Thinly sliced onion
  • Thinly sliced green and red bell peppers
  • Pieces of cold lunch meat
  • Black olives, from a can
  • About a cup of shredded brick cheese (okay, probably more)

Finally, I baked it for 15 minutes at 350F, then increased the temperature to 400F and baked for another 5 minutes or so.

IMG_1152 small

IMG_1156 small

IMG_1157 small

August 4, 2009. Tags: , , , , , , . Dinner.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

